Chocolate Banana Cupcakes

Chocolate and bananas. Always a good combination. Remember those frozen chocolate bananas from when we were little? Yeah you would if you went to my school from back in the day. Just from my very first experience with the combination, I knew there would be so much more you can do with it.

I was originally planning to make banana bread. Just plain old banana bread since I wanted to slather on a good amount of cream cheese frosting that was leftover from the last time I made red velvet cupcakes (sorry, no post on this one!) But I also had sour cream.. so what to do with that? I looked for a recipe that used sour cream. Maybe a coffee cake? I haven’t really made one in a while. Maybe banana bread again? No, too boring and predictable. OOoohh chocolate banana cupcakes. It was like fate. When I saw this recipe, I knew I just had to make these. You know how I like to make checklists when I look for recipes? Bananas. Chocolate. Sour Cream. Cream Cheese Frosting. Affirmative! Check out the blog too. It’s so pretty, I’m hoping one of these days I get to take pretty pictures like that.. maybe when I can afford a better camera and learn how to actually use one!

The cupcakes turned out so well. So airy and light. Not too sweet at all. I actually skipped the frosting just because they were already good on their own. Hmmm.. now I think maybe I’ll make carrot cake to use the frosting, I would hate for it to go to waste.

Comments are closed.

