Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies (2 ways)

Last weekend, I went on an out of town trip to Tagaytay with some girlfriends. So Wednesday night, I was in the middle of planning what sort of baked goods I could make for the trip when one of my friends requested for cookies. I will not mention any names but she is one terrible cookie monster, that I can tell you! So along with some strawberries and cream cupcakes, I decided to make peanut butter oatmeal cookies.

I have made these peanut butter oatmeal cookies before. Everyone who got to taste these loved them. Including me of course. I really wouldn’t lie to you. I try not to be biased about my baking so I don’t go telling you guys that everything I make is awesome. But when I hype something up like this please just know that I am dead serious. THESE ARE DELICIOUS. Make these cookies plain, strictly following the recipe and you will end up with melt in your mouth peanut butter oatmeal cookies. Here’s a picture of the cookies from the first time I made them.

pardon the quality, a cellphone camera was used!

This time though, I wanted to play around with the recipe and change it up. If you’ve read my post on my strawberries and cream cupcakes, you would know that I have been on an experimental mood lately. So with leftover brownie bites and Snickers from the time I made stuffed chocolate chip cookies along with some homemade toffee sauce, a light bulb went off and I just knew.. Oh and I thought it would be interesting to note that I used whole wheat flour for this batch. I figured since I’m adding so much to the yumminess of the cookie, why not make it a little healthier?

#1 way: Brownie Stuffed Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies: I had around 8 small pieces of brownie bites leftover so I used these to stuff the cookies. The cookie dough was very hard to handle. I had to keep putting it back in the fridge/freezer to harden a little bit so I could scoop a good amount that would cover each brownie piece. It took 2 small ice cream scoops of dough to completely hide a chunk. You get the picture. These were big cookies so they had to bake for a good 11-12 minutes.

#2 way: Peanut Butter Toffee Snickers Oatmeal Cookies: Whew! That was a mouthful! I chopped up a couple fun size Snickers and mixed them in some toffee sauce. Then I mixed this into the remaining cookie dough, just as you would chocolate chips.

see the bits of Snickers??

The results: the brownie stuffed ones were good and ginormous. It was basically a giant chocolate peanut butter cookie but fudgy on the inside. The toffee Snickers cookies turned out so rich but delicious. They were so gooey that they fell apart so easily but it was also caused by the toffee sauce melting away within the cookie. The addition of the Snickers pieces added to the peanut taste which I really liked.

So play around with your basic cookie dough or cake recipes. Mix in some of your favorite things that you think would result into this wonderful combination. You might just surprise yourself with how it will turn out!

2 comments
  1. TJ said:

    Asan na ung BREAD!!! MASARAP NA BREAD!!!!!!!!!!!

    • was not able to take pictures!!! 😦 I’ll make them again!

