Peter Luger

SHOCKER INFO about me: I am not a big fan of steak. YUP. Sorry. I appreciate it but I’m not a big fan. Don’t get me wrong, I’m a pretty big meat eater but I’m just so picky with my steak. I’ve only had a couple memorable experiences with steak and this post will talk about one of them.

Peter Luger. I was very hesitant to join my friends for dinner when I first heard about the restaurant. They said the dinner would probably cost around $60 per head. As a struggling, pretty much broke, college student at the time, I didn’t know if spending that much money on meat was a good idea.

I remember the trip to Brooklyn was an adventure itself. Let’s just say there were some pretty interesting people on the train headed the same direction. The people of this city never fail to fascinate me! When we got there, the place had an old feel to it, very classic type of atmosphere which gives you that sense of old New York.

One thing that I hated about this place though.. the bad service. Ok, I wouldn’t call it “bad” service. The waiters are well-trained. Too trained that they have this attitude about them that comes off as arrogant. And I know for a fact that I’m not the only one who’s experienced this at Peter Luger before.

Then the food came. Steak cooked medium rare, as dictated, not recommended by our server. Personally, I like my steak cooked medium well but our server did insist that medium rare was the way to go. When I tasted the steak, all my irritation towards our pompous waiter went away. The meat literally melted in my mouth. Every penny spent was worth it. I ended up loving every bite when I didn’t even expect to like it! I came back two years later.. I was so ready to just dive in and eat that all I said to our waiter at that time was: “Yes, yes, whatever you think would taste delicious, I trust you!” 🙂

slanted on smaller plates so the fat drips off..

Peter Luger, Inc. 178 Broadway, Brooklyn, N.Y. 718-387-7400. Reservations HIGHLY recommended.

Comments are closed.

