Greenbelt Series: Mr. Jones

INTRODUCING: The Greenbelt Series. I decided to start a series of posts dedicated to restaurants in Greenbelt since I frequent the establishments of this shopping complex. I live literally 5 minutes away, which makes it an automatic go-to spot for meet-ups with friends. If you are unfamiliar with Greenbelt, it is one of the Ayala Malls located in Makati City. It has come a long way, branching out to 5 different Greenbelt zones but all in one convenient area.

So to start off the series, I’ll be writing about Mr. Jones in Greenbelt 5. I was still studying in the states when I saw pictures of the restaurant on Facebook. The decor was very suggestive of what type of food could be served. It gave off a classic American diner feel which was reinforced by the mention of milkshakes as part of the menu. After having tried the restaurant several times, I was asked to describe the food and I knew I was ready to answer. It was classic American diner food with a Euro/Tex-Mex twist, basically taking comfort food to a higher level.

As I mentioned before, my friend Holly is a consistent eating partner of mine. No matter how much we love eating, we cannot order too much food just for me to have several dishes to write a post about. So then I decided that some posts are going to have to discuss more than one visit per restaurant. Find their menu here and more descriptions here.

Mr. Jones dinner with Holly:

Old Fashioned Grilled Cheese and Alphabet Tomato Soup– reminded me of my college days when the dining halls served this combo on Thursdays. Cheese could have had a sharper flavor, would have wanted it more melty and gooey. Soup was delicious though!

Wicked Truffled Mac n’ Cheese– I’ve actually had this a couple of times before. It’s not the best mac n’ cheese I’ve had but it’ll solve any cheesy craving you have. The truffle flavor is also pretty subtle that it doesn’t overpower the whole dish.

Mr. Jones brunch with the three musketeers (please get on with the lingo):

Tater Tots 3000 to the Max– so this was supposed to be 3 kind of stuffed tater tots and sadly, they all somewhat tasted the same. These were lacking in flavor but the different dips that was served with these came to the rescue.

Even Better “Yankee” Pot Roast– this was surprisingly good. Surprised why? Pot roast can easily end up dry with no flavor. But this was an exception since this pot roast was so tender. The potato puree had really good consistency, fine and light, the way it should be.

U.S. Beef Ribcap “Tapa and Garlic Overload”– probably one of the best beef tapas out there. Only complaint we had during this particular visit though- eggs were cooked well done when we all know all ‘silogs’ should come with over-easy eggs. (Well ok, most of the time and based on preference)

Chocolate Marshmallow Shake and Strawberry Shake– personally cannot complain much about milkshakes. Although the chocolate one could have been more chocolatey but it was still really good.

Mr. Jones
1/Lvl. Greenbelt 5, Legaspi St.
Makati City, Metro Manila
Philippines
(02) 501-3111

Comments are closed.

