Greenbelt Series: Bizu

So how embarrassing is this. This post has been in my drafts folder since July. But better late than never right?? This is yet another Greenbelt Series post, please read my first one on Mr. Jones if you haven’t yet. So…Bizu. This establishment has been around for quite sometime now. And I can say it holds a special place in my heart. It catered the food during my 18th birthday. It was the place Frank and I would go to after school on some afternoons when our cousin still worked at the original Greenbelt 2 street side spot. And just a lot more memories, too many to share but one thing in common from all of them: the food.. always delicious.

A two separate occasion post once again.

    1. the three musketeers brunch with Holly: trying new things at Bizu

Bizu’s menu looked more diversified from what I remember comparing it to the last time I was there (and the last time was probably back in high school before I left for the states..). Too many interesting things caught my attention. Here’s a run down of the things we ordered, all of which were new to us, or dishes we’ve never ordered before. We were excited!


Soup: Classic French Onion Soup- Red onions, beef stock, croutons, gratinated emmenthal and gruyere= very straightforward, clean flavorful onion consomme which is normally hard to achieve, props to Bizu for mastering this.

Appetizer: Three Dips & Baguettini- Mushroom duxelle, spinach and cheese, chorizo, and tomato rosemary, mornay sauce, melba toast= my favorite would have to be the chorizo and tomato which offered more of a complex combination of flavors.

THE BRUNCH DISHES:

“Brunch” dish 1: Braised Lamb Shanks in Red Wine Jus
Slow-cooked braised lamb shank, red wine sauce, whole roasted garlic, mashed potatoes, roasted vegetables
= The lamb was fall off the bone tender while the mashed potatoes were creamy yet not too cloying.

Brunch dish 2: Eggs Florentine
Farmer’s ham, two poached eggs, blanched organic spinach, fresh muffin, hollandaise sauce
= I always focus on the hollandaise sauce for Eggs Benedict and this did not disappoint. Some sauces tend to be too thick almost to the consistency of bechamel, this one was just right!

Brunch dish 3: Breakfast Croque
Smoked bacon, blanched asparagus, gratinated gruyere, two sunny-side up eggs, sourdough bread
= pretty light breakfast dish.. would have preferred some type of sauce on it though ๐Ÿ˜‰

Brunch dish 4: Smoked Salmon Crepe
Smoked salmon, shallots, sunny side up egg, grated mozzarella, dill, mesclun, lemon vinaigrette
= lemon vinaigrette was a great touch to bring the whole dish together, the citrus flavor was just what the salmon needed to complement the eggs and crepe itself.

    2. lunch with ladies of the family: ordering the classics

Right after my brother’s wedding, a get together was in order for the ladies of the family, in attendance: my cousin who was on holiday from Australia, cousin-in-law, my sister-in-law and me. My cousin used to work at Bizu and we were both on a reminiscing vibe that day that we ordered our usual favorites. P.S. Don’t you agree with me that my cousin-in-law, Steph is probably the sexiest pregnant woman you’ve seen?? She ate almost everything from that lunch! This post is so delayed she already gave birth last month.. ๐Ÿ˜€

Salad: Waldorf Salad- Mesclun, grilled chicken slices, apple, orange, mango, grapes, toasted walnuts, celery, shaved parmesan, honey orange yogurt dressing= everyone should know what a Waldorf Salad is. I actually had my very first one here in Bizu and it still hasn’t changed- the combination of the fruits in vegetables in this dish is balanced with the chicken. And that dressing… Definitely an awesome default salad dish!

Chicken: Cordon Bleu on Mushroom Carbonara- Roulade of chicken, forest ham, mozzarella, wild mushroom carbonara= this was the usual after school snack I shared with Frank. Grew up loving this carbonara since its mushroom flavor really shines through in this dish. And the real star of this dish, the cordon bleu, a tricky dish to prepare is done perfectly here in Bizu.

Rice: Mushroom Ragout- Mushroom ragout, rice pilaf, bechamel, gratinated mozzarella= hmmm probably the only dish I was disappointed in since this one lacked flavor and it was a little dry for my taste. There was no individual photo for this but you can see it in one of the pictures in the collage ๐Ÿ™‚

Dessert: Macarons- Pistachio, Mango and Chocolate PLUS Pain Perdu with Maple Syrup and Vanilla Ice Cream= The chocolate macarons from Bizu are my favorite! The chocolate ganache is chocolate heaven in bite size form. Perfect chewy texture and never crumbles apart unlike some that have failed to reach this high level of macaron delicious standards. And the Pain Perdu! What a discovery! This was a free dessert given to my cousin by her friends at Bizu. Oh my, I was full and ready to pop but as soon as I took a bite of that Pain Perdu, I was glad I did. The fluffiest French toast I have ever tasted. YUM.

Bizu Patisserie & Bistro
G/F Greenbelt 2, Esperanza St., Ayala Center
Makati City, Metro Manila
Philippines
(02) 757-2498

Comments are closed.

